The ugly “C” word…. Cancer

Cancer, we don’t like the word.  The thought of it makes us feel many different ways.  For me, it brings sadness.  I have personally experienced what cancer can do to a person and to a family.

When I was a little girl, my dad was my world.  I had him wrapped around my little finger and we both knew it.  He would pull me around the neighborhood, to the store, down the street, anywhere I wanted to go in my little red wagon.  He would wait patiently while I dug holes for us to plant beautiful rose bushes in.  It didn’t matter than I was 4 years old and it took me an hour to dig 6″.  He was strong. Larger than life to me.  He was Daddy.

October of 1987 my Dad became ill.  Which was odd.  He was never sick. Mom thought it was the flu.  Turns out, he had cancer.  It was aggressive.  I watched my lager than life father, turn into a frail, weak, shell of a man in just a matter of months. In and out of hospitals.  Walking into the house and finding my father on the floor is a memory that was ever impressed into my little mind.  Christmas of ’87 was difficult.  Dad put on a happy face for our family, knowing it would be his last Christmas with his family.  I remember the hospital bed, the tubes, IVs, and all the vending machine candy.

My dad took his last breath the early morning of January 6th, 1988.  Years later we found out it was mesothelioma.  Something that was not heard of during that time.

Cancer is something very real, something that tears families apart. Separates spouses, children from parents.. Cancer is ugly.

It would take me writing a book to go into detail the pain we all went through and the years of grief we all experienced and still experience to this day.

Image

As many know October is Breast Cancer Awareness month.  For the month of October I will be donating a portion of proceeds to The Breast Cancer Awareness Foundation, when you purchase either Sweat Pea & Lily or Winter Woods (cartons or jars).

Visit http://www.fundraiseforbcrf.org/sprinklesoffaith or it can be viewed on my website. http://www.spriklesoffaith.com

Image

Image

In loving memory of Charles Gorman 1929-1988

Image

About Sprinkles of Faith

I am wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I have 5 kids who are amazing. I enjoy home schooling, gardening, and living my simple farm life. My mother went home to be with Jesus in 2013. Through pain and heartache my husband and I started on a new adventure that is changing our lives. Pink Zebra. After less than 4 short months with the company, I promoted 3 times. I am now an Executive Manager and Kenan is a Manager! Kenan and I love working for such a great company and meeting so many new people. Sprinkles of Faith is dedicated in loving memory of my mother. Check out my website to learn more about Pink Zebra. sprinklesoffaith.com "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as for the Lord, not for men." Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

