Reflections of You

Thanksgiving.  Happy times, food, family, full bellies.  Kids playing, laughter, gratefulness.

As I reflect on Thanksgivings past, these are the things that come to mind.  At the center of it all was always my mother.  I remember as a child waking up to the smell of her turkey and dressing filling my bedroom with sweet aroma.  The excitement of which of my cousins were going to be there.  This year is different.  This year, my mother is not here.

I feel like I took for granted all those years we spent Thanksgiving together.  Out of 31 years I only missed one Thanksgiving Day with her. This will be my second. But this time I cannot pick up the phone and call her.  This year there is an empty place.

I don’t remember if I was every truly thankful for my mother being in my life.  I mean really truly thankful.  Loosing my mom this year has changed my perspective on so many levels.  So I beg of you, hug your mother.  Make up with that relative that you just can’t swallow your pride enough to say the words, “I’m sorry.” to.  Let it go.  You never know when you will get another Thanksgiving together, or even another day.  I have pictures of my last Thanksgiving with my mother. I will treasure them forever.  I have pictures of my last Christmas with my father as well.  We are not promised tomorrow.  We only have today.

May the Lord bless you and keep you safe as we celebrate what we are thankful for and reflect on Thanksgivings past.

Image

Image

emily

 

About Sprinkles of Faith

I am wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I have 5 kids who are amazing. I enjoy home schooling, gardening, and living my simple farm life. My mother went home to be with Jesus in 2013. Through pain and heartache my husband and I started on a new adventure that is changing our lives. Pink Zebra. After less than 4 short months with the company, I promoted 3 times. I am now an Executive Manager and Kenan is a Manager! Kenan and I love working for such a great company and meeting so many new people. Sprinkles of Faith is dedicated in loving memory of my mother. Check out my website to learn more about Pink Zebra. sprinklesoffaith.com "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as for the Lord, not for men." Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

