Grief – You are Not Alone!

This month marks 18 months since my mother went to be with the Lord.  That’s 18 long months without phone calls, hugs, and laughter.  18 months of not worried about hearing my phone ring just in case it was “that call”.  So much has changed since she died. I can’t pick up the phone and tell her the good news.  I can’t call her and cry when the world seems to fall down around me.  We bought a new house she will never see. She won’t be there to see my youngest son start Kindergarten this year. She will not be here to see out kids graduate or marry.  

Plain and simple, grief sucks!

There is no easy way through it. No way around it. No way over it or under it.  Grief just is.  Everyone at some point in their lives will deal with the death of a loved one.  Losing my dad at age 5 was hard. My grandparents at 12 was hard. But losing my mom at 31..that was debilitating.  

Does it get easier? No not really. There’s a thin band-aid on the wound and the slightest trigger can rip it off. This happens quite often with me.  Songs, smells, places, holidays, etc. All of these seem to rip that tiny band-aid off. Sometimes the flood gates open and I am on the floor crying. Sometimes I can smile through the pain.  

Let me say it again, grief sucks! 

If you are hurting, please know you are not alone.  You may feel like you are but you are not. Don’t hide your pain like I did for so long.  It’s not healthy. Trust me on that one.  Today my challenge for all of us going through these waves of grief is to put on a smile. Go out and do something today that would make your loved one smile.  Help out a homeless person, adopt a kitten, play with your children, or say a prayer. 

I would love to pray with you! Find me on facebook or email me at sprinklesoffaithpz@gmail.com

Just remember, you are not alone!

Blessings,

Emily

My mom with 3 of our 5 kids.

My mom with 3 of our 5 kids.

My Butterfly

My Butterfly

 

About Sprinkles of Faith

I am wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I have 5 kids who are amazing. I enjoy home schooling, gardening, and living my simple farm life. My mother went home to be with Jesus in 2013. Through pain and heartache my husband and I started on a new adventure that is changing our lives. Pink Zebra. After less than 4 short months with the company, I promoted 3 times. I am now an Executive Manager and Kenan is a Manager! Kenan and I love working for such a great company and meeting so many new people. Sprinkles of Faith is dedicated in loving memory of my mother. Check out my website to learn more about Pink Zebra. sprinklesoffaith.com "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as for the Lord, not for men." Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

