Whitetail Season – A Family Favorite

Yesterday was a very exciting day for all around our family.  Since moving to the country a couple of years ago, we have always been able to maintain a freezer full of venison.  Thank God! This is a big savings at the grocery store.  More than just the expense it saves us, we really enjoyed the time together as a family preparing for hunting season and cold/mornings waiting for our next freezer full of meat to walk out of the woods.

Our schedules around here have been a little insane lately.  Kenan with his new job and me with my full time job of kids, home schooling, events, and Pink Zebra.  We were actually starting to wonder if we were going to be able to take a buck this year or wait for youth weekend for our oldest daughter to harvest a doe for us.  

Mid morning yesterday a cold front blew in.  Now to any hunter you know what a cold front brings, frisky deer.  I ran and threw some extra corn out with a special “seasoning” that drives deer nuts.  Then we waited.

About 2 hours later out walks a nice buck.  Kenan grabs his .308 and the kids and I prepare for the gunshot.  Kenan calls his hand me down rifle from his grandfather, Death becomes Her.  She is one of the oldest yet most accurate guns in our collection.  Kenan just doesn’t have the heart to retire her yet.. 

white tail buck texas

This buck should clearly be an 8 pointer! Look at the length on those G2s. Our buck population around here has a genetic link of not having brow tines.  Very new and strange to me.  The buck our oldest daughter shot last season was similar to this one.

Here’s Hailee’s buck from last year.

2013 Harvest

2013 Harvest

Well, brow tines or not, we thankfully have meat for our freezer.  We might take a doe during youth or a spike if the opportunity presents himself.. lol.  We love venison stew, fried back strap, back strap bacon wraps, and of course we love to make sausage.  We need some hogs to come out and play now!  We prefer a 60/40 hog/deer ratio in our sausage.

CAUTION:

If you have a weak stomach, please to do not look at the picture below.  

This is house the hubby and I spent our evening yesterday.

Cleaning a Buck

Yeah that’s me holding the guts in while Kenan gets through the rib cage.  Not the most fantastic smell in the world but hey, whatever puts meat on the table and it’s doesn’t get any more organic than this!

After a tiring evening the children invaded my space and we watched a movie together.

Hello! Leave me some room!

Hello! Leave me some room!

Our doe herd came back this morning. We have a doe that dropped twins earlier this year.  We can now tell that one is a doe and the other a button buck.  I look forward to watching him grow.  

Whitetail group with button buck

Here’s one of my favorite pictures!  This is when our oldest daughter shot her first deer ever!  Can you tell she’s excited?

Youth Season Doe

I love the simple country life!

Blessings,

Emily

About Sprinkles of Faith

I am wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I have 5 kids who are amazing. I enjoy home schooling, gardening, and living my simple farm life. My mother went home to be with Jesus in 2013. Through pain and heartache my husband and I started on a new adventure that is changing our lives. Pink Zebra. After less than 4 short months with the company, I promoted 3 times. I am now an Executive Manager and Kenan is a Manager! Kenan and I love working for such a great company and meeting so many new people. Sprinkles of Faith is dedicated in loving memory of my mother. Check out my website to learn more about Pink Zebra. sprinklesoffaith.com "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as for the Lord, not for men." Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

