And The Heart Stopped..

So I’ve been abset this past week due to one of the scariest situatuions our family has been through in a long time.

Last Monday night my brother’s heart stopped. My brother in law was able to preform CPR and keep blood pumping while paramedics rushed to their home.  Steve was taken to the nearest hospital and stabilized.  Upon further tests he was lifelighted to Texas Medical Center in downtown Houston. Steve had 2 tears in his Aorta.  He would need emergency surgery to save his life.  What the doctors did, still blows my mind.  They were going to crack open his chest, repair the two tears in the aorta all while freezing his brain to stop circulation.  

For 7 long hours our family gathered. We cried together, laughed together, but mostly we prayed together.  Steve was only 49 and we were not ready to say goodbye.  God is a miracle worker for sure.  Prognosis was it could take 24 hours to 2 weeks for Steve to wake up from the surgery, he woke up in less than 6 hours!!  He would be on a ventalator for a while, that came out 2 hours after he woke up.  He would be in the hospital up to 10 days.  He was released yesterday.  A short 5 days after the surgery.  He is able to walk, sit, feed himself, and is now at home resting.  The doctor said that once he opened my brother up, he had less that 12 hours to live. This is proof that God was there, using modern medicine to save his life.  His road to recovery is nothing more than God’s hand on Steve and healing him.  By medical standards, he should not have recovered so fast. Well, they don’t know my God!  He’s been working mircales for thousands of years, yeah.. He’s got this.

Thank you for all of those that messaged, called, texted, and prayed for my brother.  Our whole family got a reality check.  We lost our mom 2 years ago and the thought of losing Steve too was just too much to bear.  

We are truly blessed.  

Today would have been my mom’s 77th birthday.  Happy Birthday to you mom in Heaven.  It’s hard celebrating without you here with us, but I know you’re celebrating up there.  In the arms of our Savior Jesus Christ.

I pray for many blessings for you today. That you could see the hand of God as clearly as we have this past week.  Cherish these memories you have with your loved ones while they are still here.  You never know when the heart will stop.

Blessings upon Blessings,

Emily Dibrell

Steve walking me down the aisle at our wedding.

Steve walking me down the aisle at our wedding.

Home and Resting

Home and Resting

About Sprinkles of Faith

I am wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I have 5 kids who are amazing. I enjoy home schooling, gardening, and living my simple farm life. My mother went home to be with Jesus in 2013. Through pain and heartache my husband and I started on a new adventure that is changing our lives. Pink Zebra. After less than 4 short months with the company, I promoted 3 times. I am now an Executive Manager and Kenan is a Manager! Kenan and I love working for such a great company and meeting so many new people. Sprinkles of Faith is dedicated in loving memory of my mother. Check out my website to learn more about Pink Zebra. sprinklesoffaith.com "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as for the Lord, not for men." Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

